Summer Boredom Ideas for the Kiddos…

It’s Monday, and as my kids would like to call it, it’s Make Monday.  Like so many of us, I’ve been busy trying to keep my littles busy this summer with various projects and I thought I’d share a few of the projects we have completed.  All of my ideas I found on Pinterest, and I’ll share my original pins if you would like to visit the wonderful blogs that shared their ideas.

sand-summer-outside-playing

First up, we made sidewalk chalk!

sidewalk chalk collage

So pretty much for the sake of my sanity and because we were using plaster of paris, I placed the ingredients in Ziploc baggies.  The ingredients are surprisingly basic–plaster of paris, washable tempera paint (what ever colors you want) and water.  I used whatever molds that I had at home.  From the picture above, the stars were an ice cube tray I picked up from Dollar Tree.  The muffin tin was from Dollar Tree too, and I think the silicone hearts were from Walmart.  I purchased most of the ingredients from Michael’s, but I bet you could find most of them at Walmart as well.  The project probably cost around $8 total to create, and I still have more plaster of paris left for other projects :).  Here was my original pin from Pinterest:

Next, we made moon sand!  This was so fun and a fraction of the cost that regular moon sand would cost!  The sand was moldable and easy enough for my little ones to make.  The recipe from the pin I found was only 3-ingredients too!  I seem to like 3-ingredient projects!  Ha!

moon sand collage

I actually had most of the ingredients for the moon sand, so this project was probably even cheaper than the sidewalk chalk–score!  I purchased a bag of play sand from Walmart for about $2.50 (now you guys know my secret–I’ve been hanging out at Walmart…:p).  Here is the original pin where I got the directions for the moon sand:

Last, but not least, I have to share the Father’s Day gift I made for my hubby.  He’s a HUGE Star Wars fan, so when I saw the pin below on Pinterest I KNEW  I had to make this project for him :).  I love how they turned out!

star wars hand prints

As you can see, it was a bit of a collaborative effort between me and my kids.  Don’t you just love their handwriting!

What are your kiddos up to this summer?  I’d love to hear from you!

blog signature

Leave a comment