A Little Update…

Hello everyone!  It feels like it has just been forever since I’ve updated my little ol’ blog!  Well, there’s probably quite a few of you that are wondering where I’ve been!  So I will just start at the beginning.  Two years ago I made the big leap and moved from teaching special education to teaching second grade!  I love teaching second grade and I have such a great bunch of kiddos :).  Aside from all of that (which would keep me busy enough ;))  my hubby and I adopted FOUR kids!!!!  I’m so happy to tell all of you that I am officially a mommy!  I guess that it was exactly two years ago when my hubby and I started our adoption journey.  We had some friends of ours that adopted through the foster care system.  Their precious kiddos were just the sweetest little guys and we got to thinking that maybe foster adoption would be a great option for us, since the good lord had not yet blessed with any babies of our own.  After doing some research the statistics on kids in the foster care system were staggering.  There were thousands of kids in our own county that were placed in foster care.  We immediately felt that God was telling us that this was something that we needed to do.  We completed our certification process and home study through a non-profit adoption agency in the fall of 2012 and eagerly awaited a call for placement.  I will never forget when I got the call from our agency at the end of October 2012.  Our adoption social worker actually told us about a few kids that were going to be available for adoption throughout the state and then she told us about our four babies.  There was just something about their story and I knew right then that these were going to be my children.  We submitted our home study to the county and prayed that we would be the selected family, then in mid-November we got the call!  The county had selected us as a possible match for the babies!  We were so excited!  The night before Thanksgiving 2012 our sweet babies arrived–three girls and one boy ages 5, 3, 2, and 1!  We were pretty much instantly a family of six.  Let me tell ya–my mommy learning curve has been huge!  I cannot BELIEVE how much has happened in just a year.  This last fall I’m so very happy to tell you that we finalized our ADOPTION!

IMG_3324 IMG_3318

As I sit here with my now 3 year old, who has a case of the “sickies” I just wanted to share with all of you the overwhelming sense of gratitude that I have for my wonderful little family.  I’ve also been teaching and creating as much as I can.  I promise to post some more classroom pictures soon.

Take care my friends!

blog signature

10 thoughts on “A Little Update…

  1. Conchy Marcano says:

    Congratulations!!! We adoptive parents are a breed apart! We adopted our son when he was a newborn. We got to take him home right from the hospital. We finalized the adoption when he was 14 months old. He is now 18 years old and in the army! Seems like yesterday… It’s been the best decision ever and he is the love of our lives! I pray you have a great family always and remember that it’s not in the birthing that one becomes a parent but in the raising! All our love from sunny Puerto Rico!!! Many blessings to you all!

  2. Heidi Begin says:

    Don’t miss a thing! The time we have with them is way too short! Enjoy every minute! Being a mommy is the hardest job, but the most rewarding! Congrats!
    Heidi B.

  3. Janine says:

    God Bless You!! What a beautiful family. I have been following your blog for several years. My younger brother is adopted and have never felt any different in my relation with him or any other siblings or family members. Enjoy being a mother – nothing will ever give you as much joy and heartfelt emotion. You will be such an amazing mom!!

Leave a Reply

