Meet the Teacher…

So I LOVE reading blogs, and I also LOVE seeing Link parties on people’s blogs.  When I saw that The First Grade Parade was having a Meet the Teacher Link Party I had to join in on the fun!  Here it goes, now you get to learn a little about me ;).

Here is me and my husband Andy

This is me!  I’m 33 years old, born and raised in the Central San Joaquin Valley in the lovely Cali-forn-ia!  Andy and I have been married for a little over 3 years, and he’s a teacher too!  We don’t have any babies just yet, but we do have one spoiled puppy!

Here she is...our super spoiled puppa-lup-a-gus CJ!

I’ve been teaching for seven years now.  I currently teaching within a self-contained Special Education classroom for students in grades 1-4 with mild to moderate disabilities.  This is my first year teaching within a SDC classroom for students in grades 1-4.  Prior to this teaching experience, I taught preschool & kindergarten for special education students for four years and I also taught first grade for two years with general education students.  I can’t believe that I’ve been teaching for a total of seven years already!  Well let me tell ya–there hasn’t been a dull moment!

I have one younger sister, who is such a wonderful person!  She is a speech therapist, so we usually end up talking a LOT about school since we both work with special kiddos :).

Here is a picture of the four of us a few years back.

So now for the part I know that you must be dieing to know…the Q & A!!!!

Q: What would you be doing if you weren’t a teacher?
A:  I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately for some absurd reason…lol!  Seriously, it’s hard to imagine myself doing something else, but I think that it would be fun to be an event planner.  I love to plan stuff and I think that it would be really to help organize big events such as weddings, birthdays, etc :).

Q: What are your hobbies?
A:  I absolutely LOVE to craft!  I like to scrapbook, quilt, and look at craft blogs (I’m sort of obsessed with the craft blogs too ;))!  I like to read too, but it always seems like I don’t ever have enough time to really get to read everything that I want.

Q: When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?
A:  I always said that I wanted to be a pediatrician.  I always envisioned myself helping people and I wanted to work with children, but as I got older, I found that I don’t really like blood!  So–that probably wouldn’t mean I would be a very good doctor!

Q: What are your guilty pleasures?
A: Oh my–that’s a hard one to narrow down!  Ok, I truly love some In ‘n’ Out Burger every once in a while!!! Seriously, if you don’t live in Cali you are majorly missing out on the most awesome hamburgers!  I also LOVE Starbucks, but I’ve really kind of cut that back in the last couple of years;  white chocolate mochas are my fave!  I also love peanut M&M’s and brownies…these are just yum and so useful on really stressful days.  I have to admit this too, but I also secretly watch MTV’s Teen Mom and 16 and Pregnant.  I also love to watch my soaps!  I know that they can be so lame-o, but I’ve been watching them since I was in high school and now I just can’t stop!  This is another silly thing, but ever since I read all of those Twilight books, I’m now watching all of the cheesy vampire shows on TV too,  like Vampire Diaries :).

Q: What is your biggest fear?!
A: I don’t like heights, spiders or snakes!!!  Ewwww!  There are other things, but this is pretty much at the top of my list.

Q: When you’re on vacation, where do you like to go?
A: I love the coast and the mountains.  I feel so blessed that I live in the valley, because neither one is too far away :)!

Q: What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?
A: Hmmm…this is a hard one too, I’ve been given some pretty good advice over the years, but here are some of the best ones:  always do your best, what’s meant to be will be, and don’t sweat the small stuff!

Q: What do you value most in others?
A:  Kindness and honesty.  I really value when people have both :).

Q: If you could choose one of your personality traits to pass down to your kids, what would it be?
A: Well I have to say it would be two things–my work ethic and my silliness!  You can’t be all work and no play in life!  I know that I can be pretty silly at times, but you have to be able to laugh at the little things and enjoy them when you can :).

Q: If you could have lunch with anyone in the world….living or dead…who would it be?
A:  Ok, this is a pretty hard question,but I think that it would have to be my dad and grandparents…I miss them so much!!! There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think of them :(.

Now tell us one random thing about yourself:
When I was in high school I was really involved in FFA (Future Farmers of America).   I showed market lambs in the county fair every year (freshmen to senior year) and went to several other shows around the state.  I even showed lambs at the state fair in Sacramento twice!  In addition, to showing lambs, I also participated in the Livestock Judging events, and my senior year was awarded the State Fruit and Vegetable Production award :).  These were fun and memorable experiences for many reasons, and   I was fortunate enough to of had the opportunity to meet people from all over the state.  When I first started college, I was an agri-business major, but obviously, that wasn’t meant to be (ummm…let’s just say that sales is not my cup of tea…hehehe). 
So that’s a little about me, I hope that you’ve enjoyed this!  Now I’m off to read all of your posts!  Don’t forget to link up!  Click the picture below to be taken there:

~Barbara

9 thoughts on “Meet the Teacher…

  1. michelle says:

    Im a PPCD teacher and had NO IDEA you were in special ed too! I have recently discovered your page and have used it EXTENSIVELY! I used to do television, but had a daughter who suffered neurological traumas and the experience opened my eyes to the need- and the passion to make a difference. So, now I teach special ed. ITs my first year, and Im kinda lost. BTW, I teach in Texas.

Leave a Reply

