Author Studies

This summer is going by so quickly!  As I sit and think about next year, there is one thing that I VERY excited about doing …it is an author study every month!  When I previously taught first grade we would do an author study every month, which I absolutely loved.  I would have a bulletin board in our classroom library featuring a monthly author and we would learn about the author, read and compare the stories and complete various projects related to the books.  I would absolutely love it when my little readers would go to the library weekly and request books written by specific authors like Tomie dePaola, Kevin Henkes and Jan Brett.

So as I’m compiling all of my resources, I thought that I would share some of the WONDERFUL resources that I’m finding on the internet with all of you as well.  Just click on the links to go to the pages with the information.

  1. Lesson ideas for using author studies to promote literacy within the classroom.
  2. Kindergarten Author Study Ideas
  3. Pro Teacher Author Study discussion

I would love to hear if any of you complete author studies within your classrooms.  Also, come back and check in the fall for other author study posts.

~Barb

Leave a Reply

