Changes…

Last Friday was the last day of school, and now I’m officially all done with checking out of my room.  The last couple of weeks are always so bittersweet, but this year was especially difficult.  I will truly miss all of my students, families and colleagues that I had at VO.

Next school year I will be moving to a new school and teaching a different class.  I will be teaching a self-contained special education class for students in grades 1-4.  I’m excited about this change and the new opportunities that lie ahead.

Also, my husband and I bought our first house!  We are so happy and excited!  We have so many projects that we want to do in the couple of months, and we will BOTH be busy working summer school this year to pay for these projects 🙂

So–I’ve done some thinking about my blog.  Should I continue it?  Should I not?  I’ve decided that I will continue the blog, but the focus will naturally change with my new position.  I want to thank all of you readers who have supported this blog and for all of your very nice comments and compliments.  It really brings me so much joy to hear that so many of you are able to find useful ideas to use within your classrooms.  And, I also have some big plans for posts this summer!  Here is a list of just a few topics/posts I hope to cover in the next couple of months:

  • Smartboard Lessons and Resources
  • Ocean theme ideas and links
  • Give aways!
  • More Cricut ideas
  • And much more!

Leave me a comment and let me know what your plans are for the summer!  I’d love to hear them!

8 thoughts on “Changes…

  1. Lauren says:

    Thank you so so so much for all your posts! I visit your blog all the time because you have such wonderful, creative ideas! Thanks for all your help! Congrats on your house and new teaching position. Best of luck!

  2. Sue says:

    Congrats on your new position! I switched to K after 20 some years in 3rd! I was so scared to leave a comfort zone that I loved; but I totally have fallen head over heals in love with K! Change is good! Will you keep your thematic units and printables on your site? They have been an invaluable resource and I would miss them terribly if they would vanish! THANK YOU for all that you have shared and best wishes as you move into your change!

    • Amy says:

      I also want to say congratulations! Change can be difficult, but also exciting! I want to echo the above request…will you still leave your materials on the site? I am a kindergarten teacher in IL, and we have found your references and printables to be an extreme help! Thank you!

      • mrskilburnkiddos says:

        To Amy and everyone else–don’t worry, I will keep everything up on my blog that is preschool and kindergarten related, but I will continue to add blog posts and printables that will be more closely related to the needs of my future students.

  3. Pam says:

    I will be beginning my 32nd year teaching in a self contained special needs classroom. Your blog has been wonderful! I am constantly looking for new ideas and new ways to bring concepts to my students. Thank you for continuing your blog and good luck next year!

  4. Ashley says:

    Thank you so much for continuing your blog! I am going into my 3rd year of teaching kindergarten. Your printables are going to be a great resource for this year. I can’t wait to see your smart board ideas too! Enjoy your summer! I only have two weeks left!

  5. Nicole says:

    I’m a little late to the party but wanted to congratulate you on the new job – as a self contained sped teacher who loved reading your blog in the first place, I’m really excited 🙂

Leave a Reply

