Where the Wild Things Are

Recently in my class we read Maurice Sendak’s book, Where the Wild Things Are.  This is one of my favorite books of all time.  Although I haven’t seen the movie yet (it just opened this past weekend), I am so excited to go see it next weekend with my dear hubby.  I quickly drew a Wild Thing pattern which we painted in class and decorated collage style.  This project was so much fun and the students really enjoyed it!  After my aides and I put this bulletin board up, one of my instructional assistants had the idea to add a boat with a blank Wild Thing pattern to representing “Max” taming all of the Wild Things from his boat.  This board turned out so cute!  Here is a picture:

 

This is the completed "Wild Thing" board.

This is the completed "Wild Thing" board.

 

So–I would love to hear your thoughts on the movie if you were able to see it this weekend.  What did you think?  I can’t wait to see your commments!

 

~Barb

2 thoughts on “Where the Wild Things Are

  1. Pam says:

    A friend of mine went to see it this weekend, and said it was awful, they even supposedly said a word that is inappropriate for the little ones. She also said it was kinda violent. Sorry for the bad news, I was planning on buying the DVD when it came out, but now I have to rethink it.

Leave a Reply

