Getting Ready for Next Year…

I know, I know…I had big plans for this summer. I was going to organize all of my teaching stuff, clean my home office, and update my blog regularly. Well, that was the plan. However, Summer School has kind of sucked the energy right out of me. So I apologize that I haven’t updated my blog a little more this summer. As Summer School winds down, I have come to the realization that there is only three more weeks of summer until I return to school to start setting up. Where did the time go?!?

Well, one thing about summer school is you are able to share and get great ideas from other teachers. One of other summer school teachers does a “Chef of the Week” program with her kindergartners during the regular school year. Students complete a cooking station on every Friday (with the exceptions of parties, etc). The students in her class make a ‘cookbook’ of the recipes and draw a happy or sad face if they liked or disliked the snack. At the end of the year or at Open House, they take their cookbooks home. This sounded to me like such a cute idea! So, I think that I am going to try to implement this in my class next year.  Here is a cover that I made for your Chef of the Week Book:  Cookbook Cover.   I printed this on yellow cardstock, and my plan is to take a picture of the kids in a chef dress-up costume by my dramatic play kitchen.  Kind of like the picture below.

This chef-dress up outfit is pretty inexpensive.  It retails for $14.99 from Amazon.

This chef-dress up outfit is pretty inexpensive. It retails for $14.99 from Amazon.

The picture  of the student will go on the cover and then I will laminate.  The inside pages will all be blank pages.  Whenever we complete a recipe in class, students will glue the recipe to an inside page and then draw a happy or sad face if they liked or disliked the snack.  I’m also planning on making an overall class book with pictures from throughout the year, and class graphs how many liked the snack, etc.  Once I finish these after the beginning of the school year, I will post some pictures for you to see.

If you would like to try cooking in the classroom, The MailboxMagazine always has a great section in their magazine about kids in the kitchen.  They also have a book titled, “Look ‘n’ Cook”.  Here is a sample page from this book:  Veggie Snowman Recipe.

This book retails for $22.95 from The Education Center.  It is full of many great, easy recipes that can be used in the classroom.

This book retails for $22.95 from The Education Center.

Here are some links to some great recipes to use in the classroom:

1.  Perpetual Preschool Themes just click on the theme that you are teaching and then the snack link and then you will be directed to the snack ideas that correspond with the teaching theme.

2.  Kids Cooking Activities there are lots of pictures here, which is nice.

3.  Our Crafts n Things there are some super cute recipe ideas here in this great blog!

4.  Hubbard’s Cupboard I love this site!  It has everything!

5.  Making Learning Fun there are a ton of recipe ideas here too, you just have to dig for them in the theme pages.

I hope that you enjoy these!

One thought on “Getting Ready for Next Year…

  1. Trish says:

    I am definitely going to keep this. This is one area I want to try more in my class this coming year. When I was doing my learning center course it emphasized the importance of adding cooking more. I just need to find some easy recipes–thanks for the great links.

Leave a Reply

