Summer has arrived!

Summer has finally arrived and I am really enjoying my short break before summer school begins.

The end of the school year is such a bitter-sweet time. It is often difficult to say good-bye to my little ones that are moving on. Also, at the end of the year I typically try to reflect on the school year and my teaching practices. I find myself asking the question of what can I do to improve my teaching for the next school year?

I have started a HUGE list of things to do for the summer, and one of the things at the top of the list is updating my blog!  As soon as I can start to get those creative thoughts flowing,  I am truly going to make an effort to update this teaching blog and add new ideas, printables and more thematic unit links.

So, for those of you that are reading this–what sort of projects will you be working on this summer? I would love to hear your comments too, and don’t forget to enjoy your summer!

6 thoughts on “Summer has arrived!

  1. Venus says:

    I moved from 3-5 special education inclusion to kindergarten our third week in school. Your site really was a blessing. I cannot wait for your new items.

  2. vannatx says:

    I can totally relate, my “summer to-do” list is GIGANTIC- as usual. I often wonder why my summer seems busier than my school year. I think it’s because as teachers we always save things we want to do for the summer and then we end up with these gigantic to-do lists. I’m sure I’ll only get to about 1/4 of the chores on my list but as least I tried 🙂 One of the big things on my list is selling all of my teaching materials I no longer need on Craig’s List, that’s a big project in itself since I have an entire garage AND a 10×10 storage unit full LOL!

  3. Gary says:

    Wow, I am very impressed with your blog. So many features and things to explore. We have 4 more days in NYC until the end of the school year. This will be my first summer out of 13 that I am not teaching in some capacity. I taught elementary kids during the summer for 10 years and college kids for 3. This summer it is pure vacation and refreshing.

    Congratulations on a super blog and I look forward to catching up on it during the summer months.

  4. Trish says:

    I know this is absolutely no help to you whatsoever, but I plan to find order in my house. Summer is tough for coming up with school type plans, because I am trying to rewind for September, so I usually don’t have specifics planned. Good luck though:).

  5. cathy says:

    I am going through files and trying to be more organized as I progress through the year. I have organized and organized over the years getting to what really works for me to run smoother each day. This is a huge task as I hate to throw out things I may use in the future. But really~I have to remember if I haven’t used it in 2 years it has got to go!

    • mrskilburnkiddos says:

      Cathy;

      Everything you said is sooo true! I don’t know why, but it is so hard for teachers to get rid of stuff. I think that it is because we always think that it something that we can use later. Between my husband and I we practically have an elementary school in our garage! There are materials for pre-k, kindergarten, first grade, third grade, fourth grade, and sixth grade. Ugh! It is so hard to of stuff, but there comes a point when you have to! I’m running out of room!

      Good luck with your organizing!

Leave a Reply

