How to create your own worksheets and emergent reader books…

Since beginning my website/blog this summer, I have had a few people ask how I create many of the printable worksheets, emergent readers, etc that I have shared.  The majority of these items I create on Microsoft Word with text boxes.  After I create these documents, I then save them to a PDF format so they are easier to upload to my blog.

Last winter, January 2008,  I presented a workshop with my district on how to create your own resources with technology (primarily Microsoft Word).  Here is a copy of the powerpoint presentation:  Technology Presentation

Here are some resources on the web to help you with creating your documents:

Microsoft Drawing Tutorial (this PDF discusses many things, such as inserting lines, working with Word Art, etc).

Microsoft Office Training Courses (this is a free resource from Microsoft and features many online classes with a variety of tutorials for various things).

Text Box Tutorial (this PDF discusses the many different ways that you can use text boxes in your documents)

I hope these help!

2 thoughts on “How to create your own worksheets and emergent reader books…

  1. kinderblogger says:

    These are great ideas. I am going to look through them when I get home. You have been a huge help to me since I started my site this year. Thanks again and keep up the great work. I look forward to your updates!

  2. Helen says:

    Thanks for the shape materials. I am designing an alternative to the state test for one of my special children. I’m sure that he will enjoy theses activities. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

