Letter M and Monster Activities

We just finished up the Letter M for our letter of the week.  I typically teach my mice unit during this week as well.  However, since this unit is typically taught during the first week of October, I also take the opportunity to do some fun monster activties as well!

This is one of my favorite books to read-aloud during October:

Here are some great lessons/activities that I have found on the web to accompany this book:

Ed Emberly’s Website (author of Big Green Monster) has a few adorable printables:  Monster Coloring Pages

Monster masks

Kizclub.com has some wonderful storytelling pieces that you can use to accompany this book:  Monster Story Patterns Color

Check out this Teachers Net discussion regarding this adorable book–there are some very cute ideas:  Big Green Monster Ideas

Making Learning Fun also has a Monster Theme page, with lots of great printables:  Big Green Monster Theme Page

Super Simple Songs has a page that features their adorable song, “Go Away!”:  Go Away Song Activities

Here is a YouTube video of this song (note:  there are parts of the  song that are a little scary to me, so I probably wouldn’t use this video with my class, but of course that depends on your students, so I thought that I would share it with you):

Check out Virtual Vine’s Monster Unit page–there are lots of very cute ideas here:  Monster Unit

Update (10/10/08): Yesterday, I was shopping at Target and they had the most adorable monster items in their dollar spot!  Here is a picture:

The above picture is a set of six monster stamps and a green monster puppet.  I plan on using the stamps for counting activities.  These items were only a dollar each!

Here are some activities that I created to go with the adorable little monster stamps above, you could also use monster clipart or have students draw monsters to complete the pages:

monster-counting-book

i-see-monsters

ten-little-monsters-book

Check out these adorable ideas on the A to Z Teacher Stuff message board:  Where the Wild Things Are Ideas

Here is an idea for creating Wild Thing masks:  Wild Thing Mask Lesson Plan

Here is a lesson plan to use with this book from the Lesson Plans Page:  Where the Wild Things Are Lesson Plan k-2

4 thoughts on “Letter M and Monster Activities

  1. Ms. Christopher says:

    Just wanted to thank you for the helpful website. As I am sitting her lesson planning for the upcoming weeks, I found a lot of very good ideas here. The links to other sites & resources with the same theme was terrific. Its has saved me a ton of time. I plan to use the site regularly. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

