Mrs. Muncher…my latest classroom project

Okay, I have seen all of the adorable little ‘muncher’ ideas with trash cans. I’ve been wanting to make one of these for years! Even my hubby made one when he first started teaching two years ago. Well last night, I finally made one! Here is a picture of my Mrs. Muncher:

I used felt, letter stickers, googly eyes, a heart jewel and a hot glue gun to create my sound muncher.

There are so many things that you can do with this idea. I plan on using mine to teacher letter and sound recognition. However, my husband Andy uses his very differently. In his classroom when he does his reading for purpose station students look for specific things when reading silently. This could be anything, such as, “Write down any multiple meaning words that you may find while reading.” Students write down the words that they find on a precut card, Andy then reviews the words later and adds them to a word wall displayed within the classroom.

I plan on using my sound muncher (I named her Mrs. Muncher by the way) to teach letter sounds, but I may also use her to teach digraphs and word endings as well. There are so many ideas!

Lakeshore learning sells these great Letter Sound tubs that would be great to ‘feed’ Mrs. Muncher!

These retail for $129.00 from www.lakeshorelearning.com

These retail for $129.00 from http://www.lakeshorelearning.com

Another thing that you could do is go to Dollar Tree, Target or Michael’s to find your own small items to make your own sound tubs. And you could always use pictures!

Here are some ideas that I found on the web for using a word muncher:

  1. Mr. or Mrs. Sound Muncher cards and ideas from http://www.fairyinteresting.com Sound Muncher Ideas
  2. Mrs. Dryzal’s classroom website has an adorable little song that you can use with your sound muncher, click here for the link: Mrs. Dryzal’s Sound Muncher
  3. Marcia’s Lesson Links page has a muncher gallery! This is too cute! Click here to go to this page: Muncher Gallery
4 thoughts on “Mrs. Muncher…my latest classroom project

  1. Wendi says:

    Wow, love your sound muncher and the tips for using it. I made one 2 years ago and she’s just sat on the windowsill lonely and unused. 🙂 Now she’ll have a happy year! I hope you and your kiddos do, too!

Leave a Reply

