Dollar Deals for the classroom!

I love Target’s Dollar spot and Dollar Tree! They always have the cutest stuff for $1! I love it! So I thought that I would share with all of you some of the things that I found.

A number/counting puzzle, mini-farm animal counters, Lisa Frank mini-erasers and Pom-Poms

A number/counting puzzle, mini-farm animal counters, Lisa Frank mini-erasers and Pom-Poms

I will probably use the erasers, pom-poms and animal counters for sorting. The pom-poms are great to use as a color sorting activity at the beginning of the year. I just use muffin tins from the dollar store and stick colored stickers at the bottom of each section. Students use strawberry pickers to pick-up the pom-poms and sort them into the appropriate color category. It is a great fine motor activity! This package of pom-poms has three different sizes, so I will probably use them to sort by size as well. And, you would use all of these small manipulatives for counters as well.
Here is another picture of some things that I found in Target’s dollar spot recently:
Card Scheduler pocket charts and red plastic bin

Card Scheduler pocket charts and red plastic bin

I think that I will probably place some magnetic tape on the back of the pocket charts and use them on my air conditioning unit for matching activities. The red bins will probably be used for table activities and art projects, that way each child has their own ‘area’ to work in.
I also found these really cute stamp sets in the Dollar Spot section at Target, but these were $2.50 each. They are really cute and I think that I will use them for counting activities:
My student’s always love stamping activities, and it is an activity that they can complete independently.
I also went to Dollar Tree yesterday and they had all sorts of cute classroom decoration items for bulletin boards for $1! I didn’t buy a whole lot, but here is a picture of some of my finds:
4-pack of game spinners, Goldilocks and Jack and the Beanstalk wooden puzzles, Ladybug and Flower diecuts.

4-pack of game spinners, Goldilocks and Jack and the Beanstalk wooden puzzles, Ladybug and Flower diecuts.

We usually complete units on Goldilocks and the Three Bears and Jack and the Beanstalk at the beginning of the year. I thought that these puzzles would be good for story comprehension. The game spinners will be used for various activities/games and the die cuts will probably be used for either a flannel board activity or a file-folder game. I haven’t decided yet.
The possibilities are endless and for only a dollar!
Leave a Reply

