Visual Token Economy Boards and Autism Resources…

So we’ve been back to school now for a couple of weeks and I’m starting to get back into my routine!  One thing that I’ve been working on is a visual for  students to reinforce the “First/Then” concept when completing work stations within the classroom.  I find that many of my little special education students need this visual reinforcer to keep them on task.  I’ve been doing my ‘teacher’ homework and started looking on the internet for some ideas and/or printables.

There really are some great things on the internet!  Check out this great example of a First/Then board from ToyPecs.com.  Click the picture to be taken to their website–there is a ton of great stuff here and it’s FREE!

After I was amazed at all of the resources available on the internet, I decided to make my own with pictures of objects within the classroom.  You can see my visual choice board here:  What are You Working For Board.  I printed two copies and made sure to print them on card stock.  Also, you will need to laminate the pages and use velcro to manipulate the objects.  This is basically how the visual works:

  1. You give the child a choice of what they would like to do when they are finished working (these would be the pictures).    I simply ask them, “What are you working for?”.  Also, I only give them a few choices, no more than three max, when I ask them this question.
  2. Student gets a number for each thing that they complete (i.e. put your name on the paper, then they get and match the number 1).
  3. Once the student completes whatever 5 things the teacher designates for the task, then they get to have the highly preferred object that they chose from the choice board.

I also made a few simpler versions of this board:

Here are some wonderful links to Autism teaching resources and other printable visuals that you can use in either the classroom or at home:

  1. Autism Teacher Resources from Special Education Services
  2. Classroom Supports for Special Education Students from Tulare County SELPA
  3. Here is another version of a work board from ABA Resources online:  I Am Working For Board
  4. TinSnips.com  has an amazing amount of information and printables:  Tin Snips Make and Take Page

I hope that you find this post to be useful!  I would also love to hear your suggestions and/or other links to great resources on the web for special education students.

~Barbara

One thought on “Visual Token Economy Boards and Autism Resources…

  1. This website is awesome. I work in a Life Skills room at the elementary school and this has really helped with one of my students. Thanks

Leave a Reply

