Pictures of previous bulletin boards…

Some of you may be aware that before I taught preschool and kindergarten special education students, I previously taught first grade for two years. I just recently scanned and included my Open House pictures from when I taught first grade. I hope that you enjoy them!

Open House 2005:

This was my first year of teaching.  We had an ocean theme inside of our classroom.  I loved the way that everything turned out!  This theme was so much fun to teach to my students.  Here are the pictures:

Ocean reports and story summaries

Ocean reports and story summaries

Ocean themed math word problems.

Ocean themed math word problems that students illustrated.

These are made from paper plates.  The bottom paper plate is painted blue.  Then you cut out a circle from the top board.  Students glued tissue paper strips to make sea weed and stuck ocean stickers.  These looked really cool!

These are made from paper plates. The bottom paper plate is painted blue. Then you cut out a circle from the top board. Students glued tissue paper strips to make sea weed and stuck ocean stickers. These looked really cool!

This was the view from the door from Open House 2005 when I taught first grade.  Students painted their own ocean animals and we also included torn paper art fish.

This was the view from the door. Students painted their own ocean animals and we also included torn paper art fish on our mural. The hanging jelly fish are made from paper plates and streamers.

We made paper plate killer whales, handprint octopi & crabs and watercolored seahorses and starfish.

We made paper plate killer whales, handprint octopi & crabs and watercolored seahorses and starfish.

This was the door decoration, and I placed students' pictures inside of the portholes.

This was the door decoration, and I placed students' pictures inside of the portholes.

Open House 2006: This year was a jungle/rain forest theme.  I loved this theme as well.  We had a giant Kapok tree in the center of the classroom that had tissue paper toucans hanging from it, as well as paper plate snakes.  Here are the pictures:

This was the door decoration.  Students made handprint jaguars.

This was the door decoration. Students made handprint jaguars.

This is the view from the Kapok tree.

This is the view from the Kapok tree.

This is a close-up of the tissue paper butterflies that students made.

This is a close-up of the tissue paper butterflies that students made.

This was the back board within the classroom.  There were monkeys, hand/footprint birds and butterflies on display.  The writing is students rain forest reports.

This was the back board within the classroom. There were monkeys, hand/footprint birds and butterflies on display. The writing is students rain forest reports.

This is another close-up of their rain forest reports.  I typed the reports so they would be easier to read, but included the originals underneath.

This is another close-up of their rain forest reports. I typed the reports so they would be easier to read, but included the originals underneath.

These are their jungle math story problems.

These are their jungle math story problems.

This was our seed experiment.  We placed a seed with a wet sponge inside of a Ziploc bag to see if it would grow.

This was our seed experiment. We placed a seed with a wet sponge inside of a Ziploc bag to see if it would grow.

Feel free to email me if you have any questions.  I also included these pictures and more on the Bulletin Board page here:  Mrs. Kilburn’s Bulletin Board Page


4 thoughts on “Pictures of previous bulletin boards…

  1. Oh the Kapok tree–that was a project!

    I used a 5 gallon bucket, cardboard carpet rolls (you can typically get these from anywhere that sells carpet), lots of brown bulletin board paper, fishing line, paperclips and something to weigh down the bucket (I think that I used dirt, but you can use sand, rocks, whatever will work). Also, you may need to use some really sturdy straight pins. I bought mine at Michael’s.

    First you place the carpet roll inside of the empty bucket. Once your carpet roll is straight, then you poor sand or dirt around it to keep it in place. Next you cover it with paper. Slightly scrunch the bulletin paper to give it more texture. You will need a LOT of bulletin board paper, so don’t skimp! Next, we scrunched it into sections and used fishing line to hook it to paperclips that were hanging from the ceiling tiles. I don’t recommend doing this by yourself–it’s sort of a group effort! You will need someone to hand you the branches, etc when you are on the ladder.

    Let me know if you have any other questions. I hope this helps and happy tree making!

  2. These are beautiful bulletin boards; especially loved the jungle theme. Just looking at the pictures makes one feel as if they’ve entered a jungle. The children must have LOVED this theme too.

  3. I am a Teacher of ESL, I will “steal” some of your great ideas. I will decorate my classrom of ESL. . Thank you once more.
    Clara

Leave a Reply

