Monkey Mayhem!

Okay, school is starting in just a couple of weeks. I’m nervous and excited at the same time. I’ve been thinking a lot about what themes to use in my classroom this year. Last year I made a large Bulletin Board that said, “Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, Welcome to our Room!”. It really turned out very cute (sorry I don’t think that I have any pics). I really love the whole tropical/beach theme for my classroom. So–lately, I’ve been thinking about monkeys!

I was at Target last week and found some really cute David Kirk’s Sunny Patch kids Monkeys. They were on clearance for $1.75! So I bought a couple of packages.

Target Monkeys

Target Monkeys

When I got home I was brainstorming some ideas for using the monkeys and then I noticed that some of the monkeys have bananas and some do not. So I made a little task card and worksheet to go with them. Click to open the file: monkey-mayhem-task-card-and-worksheet.

Target also has these adorable monkey rugs.

They are too cute! They are online for $24.99. I thought that these would be cute in my reading area. Target also has these adorable soft monkey pillows, here is a picture:

Adorable!

Adorable!

Well, it doesn’t end there. Yesterday, I went shopping with my sister-in-law, Amy, who is the queen of classroom decoration. She is sooo creative! Here are some cute monkey classroom decorations that I saw at my local school supply store:

Here is a link to some cute chicka chicka boom boom ideas with an adorable monkey bulletin board: http://www.littlegiraffes.com/chickachickaboom.html

I also found this link thanks to a member of the Kinder Korner Group, it has lots of cute Jungle Printables: Jungle Theme Classroom Printables

Check out this link that has some really cute monkey themed ideas:  Monkey Themed Ideas

This ProTeacher Discussion has very cute jungle themed ideas:  Jungle Theme Ideas

5 thoughts on “Monkey Mayhem!

  1. Hey!!! Those ideas are really cute! I am using the same monkey BB set for my classroom. I am a first year teacher..and will finalyl get to start setting up my classroom tomorrow…I was wondering if you had any cute ideas for my door? I am doing a jungle them and have lots of animals, monkeys, etc…I am doing an “Information Hut” wit h brown grass skirts for my calendar, lunch menu, schedule etc..I am doing “Jungle Jobs” for my helpers area…and I am making a little palm/jungle tree for my reading center…

  2. I have made large jungle leaves from green butcher paper and taped them to the door. Then I used letters to spell out, “Welcome to Room ___, It’s a Jungle In Here!” Another cute bulletin board for your reading area would be, “We’re Going Bananas for Books!” Here is a link to some other great ideas on the proteacher discussion board: http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/showthread.php?p=658814.
    There are some really cute ideas here. I hope this helps!

  3. Last year I had a jungle classroom, here are a few things that I did. My husband made a treehouse for me we order bamboo and tiki grass off the internet. We then pulled grapevines out of the trees and hung it all over my room. I went to the Dollar Store and Everything is a $1.00 and found vines and leaves and put them all over the vines. I then order the 12″ foam monkeys from Oriental trading and put the kids names on these to use during Accerated Reading time. The monkeys moves from vine to vine according to points. I made a 3-D palm tree out of paper and used this for a bahavior chart. I used bamboo to hold my center charts. The kids loved this they called it the jungelroom.

  4. The examples you give of decorations you found in a teacher slupply store. Is the one of all the monkeys available online? If so do you hve a link?

Leave a Reply

